Daily Prompt: Mix Tape

Ooooh, this is exciting!  I love lists!  And I love music!  It’s like this Daily Prompt was made for me.

Put together a a musical playlist of songs that describe your life, including what you hope your future entails.

Safe and Sound by Hawksley Workman

This song was my wedding song and it fits my hubby and I perfectly for a few reasons.  First, it’s a driving song and there is nothing we love more than to get in a car and drive, talking and talking until the road ends.  Second, it’s a quirky, upbeat song by a quirky, off-the-beaten-path Canadian artist and, well, that’s how we roll!  Finally, and most importantly, I feel utterly and completely safe and sound with my husband.  He is my anchor, he adores who I am (even the scary bits of me) and he takes care of me no matter what.

Animal by Ani Difranco

To say Ani Difranco has a way with words is to say Santa Claus could stand to lose a few pounds.  Her lyrics are always insightful, sometimes painful, and more often than not confrontational.  This song nails a lot of how I feel about the world right now.  At times I’m saddened, horrified, and sometimes disgusted, but I choose to focus on my place in the world and the role I can fulfill.

“I think when you grow up surrounded by willful ignorance,

you have to believe mercy has it’s own country, and that it’s round and borderless

and then you grow wings and rise above it all”

Closer to Fine by the Indigo Girls

On a road trip to Montreal a few weeks ago I listened to this song for the first time in years.  As a teen I loved the harmonies in this song, the gritty female voices and the folky instrumentation.  But in that car, as an almost-thirty-year-old working mom who struggles with insecurities and guilt and constantly tries to figure out how to do better, to BE better, this line wrapped around me like a hug:

“there’s more than one answer to these questions

pointing in a crooked line

and the less I seek my source for some definitive

the closer I am to fine”

Nothing up to that moment has so clearly said – treat yourself kindly, don’t work so hard at this, you’re doing fine.  It was a revelation.

I’ll Be Home with Bells On by Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton

Kenny and Dolly Christmas is one of the best Christmas albums ever written!  Or at least I think so since it conjures up all my childhood memories of decorating the house and dancing like an idiot with my sister, singing along at the top of our lungs with Dolly’s squeaky, giggly voice.  Right now I’m pining for family and evenings curled up with a glass of Bailey’s and a plate full of goodies, and this song brings it all home.  And I can’t WAIT for my son’s reaction to Christmas this year!

Mushaboom by Feist

Moving home to the country, slowing the pace of life and raisin’ babies.  #1 most appropriate song for what my future has in store, and I’m so happy to say that it sounds like paradise!

Daily Prompt: Mix tape

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Mix Tape

  1. Pingback: IT’S A MUSICAL LIFE « hastywords

  2. Pingback: Music Musings: Live Your Life… | Mirth and Motivation

Let me know what you're thinking

